Thomas Peter O'Conner

J

jennifer moser

I am researching my gg uncle Thomas Peter O Connor Cabin steward some of the information on line seems to be incorrect I would like to put forward my findings . I am new to this whole sight so would appreciate help in this.I also have some questions for the future. Thank you.Jenny

J

jennifer moser

Thomas was 43/44 when he died(census 1871 81 91)
He lived at 12 Linacre lane L'pool Have photo of property.
Looking for a photo of him.
What is a "victualling" steward?
Jenny

Bob Godfrey

Nov 22, 2002
UK
Jenny, the 'victualling' department included all the crew members who were on board to look after the passengers rather than the ship - in other words, the hotel and catering staff.

J

jennifer moser

are there any lists of "next of kin" or dependants
for crew members who lost their lives? Jenny

J

jennifer moser

Bob thank you for putting me in touch with the relief fund message board it produced surprising results I hope for more Jenny

J

jennifer moser

Does anyone know of the "duties" of the crew who took the Titanic from Belfast to Southampton?

J

jennifer moser

I now have his MC and BC for 2 of his 5 children
Sadly the names do not appear on the relief fund I am still hoping to find names for the 3 younger ones especially as we always thought he hadnt married.

J

jennifer moser

the reason I thought he was on the Olympic was the list of crew signing the on the Titanic in Belfast says this. His signing on papers in Southampton (have a copy) list the Celtic are there records of this Belfast signing on at Kew that I could look at? jenny

J

jennifer moser

recent research at Kew I found from 11/12 1911 -09 03 1912 Thomas signed up on the Celtic.- viewed his signing on papers. On the 11/12 1911 papers he is given as comimg from the Mauretania.
I understand these papers are with L'pool University archive will try to get access. Jenny

Inger Sheil

Dec 3, 2000
Congrats on the work you've done, Jennifer!