Thomas Smyth & Bridget Donohue

R

Richard Nuttall

Hello all! I'm new to all this but had a question about Lester J. Mitcham's interesting analysis: Passenger Numbers: The Statistics of the Disaster.

With regards to 3rd Class lost...
According to transcript list MT 9/920/201 he states that the list gives 535 passengers lost (passenger numbers 289-823). An attached minute states we should remove numbers 437 - Thomas Emmeth, 638 - Bert O'Donoghue, 812 - Hanne Youssef, and 813 Georges Youssef) as these four survived, leaving 531 passengers lost.
He then goes on to correctly mention about incorrect alterations made to the abovementioned minute: Passengers 822 - Thomas Smyth, and 823 - Bridget Donohue replaced 437 and 638 on the minute stating these passengers survived (when in actual fact they perished). 531 lost should not change - 822 and 823 must remain on the 'lost' list.
As I understand it...
Thomas Emmeth is the incorrect listing for Thomas Smyth who was lost.
Bert O'Donoghue is the incorrect listing to Bridget Donohue who was also lost.
As all four names had numbers on the list, 535 passengers lost to start with was too much. It should have been only 533. Then, according to the Minute, with the two Youssefs survivng, it should drop again to 531. (and then have a further 5 name of survivors removed bringing the total to 526 lost... not the 528 stated in the discussion.

He appears to make the same error in the following paragraph which begins... According to BT 100/260 passengers 291-822 ....etc. A total of 533. I assume that both the Irish passengers are double-listed again (although the passenger numbers are not quoted this time for the correct names). Remove the double-listings to get 531. Add the two who were missed off (Emir and Brahim) and remove the five saved (as above) to get 528. Does this figure include Hanne and George Youssef above? This would again bring us back to 526.