Titanic Australia

Status
Not open for further replies.
M

Micheal Napier

Hey all.

I live in Australia and i was wondering what are the significant connections between Australia and the Titanic? Also did the rms Olympic visit Australia, as i think the Maurtania or Auqitania did?

Thanks for your time.
Mike Napier.

A

Andrew Rogers

Hi Mate,
I'm in Sydney and I have been studying up on the Aussie connections for a couple of years now.
I am always pushed for time so it might be a few days before I can give you a rundown (on the board) or you can contact me on [email protected] and we can arrange a telephone call.

Bye,
Andrew.

Sep 12, 2000
Dear Andrew,
If a person from America were to come to Australia, what sites would you recommend of significance and what Titanic related sites are there and where would they be located?

Thanks.
Maureen.

Inger Sheil

Feb 9, 1999
My father recalls seeing the Aquitania at Circular Quay as a boy.

Titanic sites? Well, Fort Denison - site of Lightoller's notorious 'one gun salute' during the Boer War when local sentiment was running high is difficult to miss. It's a teeny fort on a teeny rock, sitting smack bang in the middle of the Harbour (used to have a good view of it from my office window).

Virtually all the Titanic's officers had a familiarity with Circular Quay and probably also Darling Harbour in Sydney. One of the juniors had an affection for Newcastle, NSW above either New York or Sydney (bizarre taste there - I've got family in Newcastle, mind you...). Tenuous links to Taronga Zoo, but that's a tale for another day :)

There are Titanic memorials in places as far flung as the band memorial in...Ballarat, is it, Andrew? Something like that. The Commutator had a good article a year or two ago on the subject of Australian Titanic links.

~ Inger

Dave Gittins

Mar 16, 2000