Titanic Fever

Chris Agnew

Oct 8, 2009
Hi everybody,

I am a London based artist and am currently carrying out research for an exhibition in London early next year, where I will be showing work that focuses on the enthusiasm surrounding the legacy of the Titanic in popular culture.

I am extremely interested in what it is exactly that draws all of us to studying the Titanic with such enthusiasm, especially those - like me - who have no direct link to the event itself?
If the Titanic tragedy did not happen, do you believe that you would be researching another topic instead?
Do you think that you will ever get to a stage where you have absorbed so much information about the event that you will abandon the subject?

Thanks all for your responses,

Best wishes,
Chris

Feb 7, 2007
I don't think I will ever abandon Titanic. I've been interested in it since 2006 and I still have many things to discover!
like you, I have no link with Titanic. What draws me to it is the terrible loss of life and the fact that everything was against them. In Walter Lord's book "The Night Lives On", he said that if they had spotted the iceberg 15 seconds earlier - or later -, if there had been enough lifeboats, if the Californian had responded to the distress calls, etc etc, then the sinking woudn't have been so dramatic. I'm also extremely interested in the children. I find the number of children in third class that died terribly sad.
I think that if the Titanic hadn't sunk, I would be researching another shipwreck ;) but I believe that since everything was against it, some force of nature had decided that it had to sink.

I hope my answers are satisfying,
Frances

Dec 2, 2000
Easley South Carolina
For me it's the fact that I'm a retired sailor as well as somebody who is deeply interested in maritime and naval history. The Titanic is likely one of the most notorious as well as one of the best documented shipwrecks of all time and most probably one of the most misunderstood.