Titanic Models/Variations

Paul E Burke

Jun 26, 2018
I am a newbie here but have the same passion as all here. Over the last few years I have been collecting different model versions of the Titanic and hopefully soon start building them as the instructions state. I want to see how each kit differs in detail and updates.
I am sure multiple people have done this but I am looking forward to it and the end game is to one day build the Minicraft 350 scale kit with all the bells and whistles available.

I was sorry to see the Titanic model site go down as I planned around that site to help me gauge the differences in the kits.

If anyone has done this and can give me information regarding the differences that would be great as well.
Thanks!

Mar 9, 2018
Georgia, USA
Just going off the minicraft version:

It was first produced I believe in the late 70's early 80's, possibly mid 80's and remained that way until 1997 when the Cameron film came out and interest exploded in the Titanic for a few years.

The 1997 upgraded kit comes in 2 varients, Standard and Deluxe. The standard is well, just the basic model but the deluxe includes a few brass etched parts for more experienced modellers.

Changes from 1997 kit to prior kits included some minor changes to the molds. For forecastle has proper porthole allotments now, an entirely new forecastle deck, no more X's on the coaling doors, skylight changes, and well deck corrections.

in 2008 the kits were bought, or either Minicraft as a whole was bought, by a different distributor and the molds were cleaned up further for greater clarity in details. You can tell which kit is which by looked at the side by the age recommendation:

• 36 months (old kits from 70's, 80's and 1997)
  • 8 years (first kits made in 2008 with all the photoetching included and better mold cleanup)
  • 14 years (second round of kits made in 2009 with all the photoetching included and parts from cleaned up molds)