Titanics break

Status
Not open for further replies.
C

Cátia Lamy

Hi owais!

I'm not an expert and I'm sure there's some other people who can aswer this better than I but, for what I understood speacilly with Cameron's movie, when that part of the ship where Jack and Rose fly (sorry but I can't remember how that is caleed in english!!) began to sink, the water inside the ship climb up and up. With the weight of the water and the ship propellers side all up in the air (the ass like Mr. Bodine calls it in the movie!) the ship got to heavy and everything started to blow up inside the ship and it just had to broke otherwise it probably would just blow all up! The heat intensity of the boilers, the water getting inside all the rooms, all over the place made those explosions and the air just got to heavy and had to get out someway!

I don't know anymore than this, and I tried to explain on the most commun words so that would be no confusion!

Hope I've helped!

Best regards,
Cátia Lamy

P

Paul John Rogers

Owais,

I'm not an expert either, but there's a good website at http://home.flash.net/~sparks12/titanic.html (Parks Stephenson) which I think explains the breakup very well. There are many other sites which look at how Titanic broke, but I particularly like this one!

I'll summarise briefly: Think of a toilet roll! When you hold a toilet roll and put pressure downwards on one end, the sides pop out and it bends at the bottom. (Titanic apparently broke from the bottom UPwards - and not from the top downwards as shown in Cameron's film.)

Catia is partly right: The weight of the stern sticking up out of the water was too much for the keel to bear. No ship is designed to have the keel held unsupported out of the water like that.

There are other arguments around which blame the "poorness" of the iron, the rivet holes, etc. for the breakup. They probably all contributed to some degree.

Hope this helps.

Paul.

T

Trent Pheifer