USS Constitution

Feb 14, 2011
The USS Constitution is the oldest commisioned warship in the world that is still in service.
She was launched in Boston in 1797, used to deal with the Barbary pirates, and later fought the British during the war of 1812.

The USS Constition is still an active navy ship, staffed with US Navy sailors.

These days I work as a deckhand on the early morning Boston harbor shuttle boats, and every day, we pass the the USS Constition as she fires her cannon at sunrise.
She fires them again every night at sunset....

Has anyone here ever visited the USS Constitution?
What did you think?

The USS Constitution is the oldest comissioned warship still in service..what ship is the second oldest?
Does anyone have a 'top five' list of the five oldest commisioned warships still in service?

Regards

Tarn Stephanos
Boston MA

Dennis Smith

Aug 24, 2002
Tarn,

Sorry, have to disagree with you on the oldest commissioned vessel. Just checked the HMS Victory site and according to them :-

Victory launched 1765
Commissioned 1778

She still has Royal Navy Personnel, so according to their site HMS Victory predates the USS Constitution.

Best Wishes and Rgds

Dennis

Dennis Smith

Aug 24, 2002
Sorry All,

Do not want to change the subject of Tarn's post,
I'd love to know which are the oldest commissioned warships, be the USS Constitution or HMS Victory first or second. Are there any US or Brit sold ships that are really old still sailing?
Does HMS Belfast (WW2 Cruiser) come into consideration?

Tarn and I await your replies.

Best Wishes and Rgds

Dennis

Feb 14, 2011
Hi Dennis!
Thanks for the information! And to think the Constitution crew and adjoing museum have been telling visitors that she is the oldest commisioned warship in the world.
I might have to pop by and make a mention to them of the HMS Victory.

Dennis, the USS Constitution is pulled out into the harbor and has her annual 'turnaround', so both fore and aft recieve full exposure to the sun.