What Became of the White Star Line?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sarah

Jan 22, 1998
I was wondering if the White Star Line still existing? Because if it was it wouldn't be doing to good right? Any info is helpful. Thanks!

lucy

Dec 29, 1997
White Star Line was eventually bought by Cunard, which as you know is still in existance today.

John Clifford

Mar 30, 1997
Interesting follow-up: Cunard is now part of the Carnival Cruise Line.

Carnival's plan is to keep Cunard as a unique entity, so that Cunard will be "the Cadillac of the Carnival Line".

lucy

Dec 29, 1997
Not actually. I am a travel agent, and Cunard is not OWNED by Carnival, or 'Part of' the Carnival line. They are in partnership with carnival. Most cruise lines are folowing the airline leads in partnerships (like Northwest/KLM, United/British Airways, etc.)...

They have informed us that they are still Cunard, and are not 'Part Of' only a 'Parnter of' Carnval Crusie Lines.

Dec 13, 1999
Jennifer: I think the White Star was bought by the Cunard in the thirties, not long after the 1929 crash. Hope I helped.

Charles

R

Roger Earle

Imagine how Ismay must have felt at this,only 3 years before his death.

K

K.C. Vendetta

After reading a wonderful book, THE MAIDEN VOYAGE, by Geoffrey Marcus, New York/The Viking Press, it was apparent Ismay knew the outcome of the White Star Line as the Chairman of the Board was ousted from his position shortly after the Titanic sinking due to the embarrassment of his actions.

Nigel Hampson

Jun 17, 2000
Re Cunard White Star line Merger.
Can I just correct in a small way the information supplied above?