What was in those leatherbags

M

Mikael Jonsson

Hi.

I read a while ago here on the messageboard that several leather bags have been found in the debris field. Those bags had protected the contents very good, but what was it in them?

Has any paper or soft material been recovered from the wreck?

Dec 2, 2000
Hi Mikael.

I am not an expert, but I know of one bag that was found and it contained the clothing of a man neatly packed.

Anything paper and soft material would normally be destroyed over time and yet anything that was protected by an enclosed leather case or bag was still intact. I believe that some bags contained postcards and other paper products. There are better experts than me on this.

Maureen.

Apr 23, 2002
Think that money and banknotes were recovered from a bag.
Another was maybe a carpenters bag containing wooden pieces such as a hammer.

M

Mikael Jonsson

Hi.

I received an email from one person who lost her granduncle on Titanic. She told me that they had found his bag in 2001 and it had been recovered. Inside there was letters, books and postcards that still was possible to read.

That was very interesting. What if they find a camera in a leaterbag with photos from the sinking. That would be something extra.

Dec 2, 2000
Interesting Mikael. I know that someone conducted an experiement to determine whether there were micro organisms on Titanic and he used film as bait for the little guys to eat. When he came back there were eaten trails on the film that he could study. So, I guess that I am not sure whether the microbes would be repelled by the tanned leather (it is the tanning process that makes the leather not appetizing by the way) or if the film would be something that would cause them to invade a piece of leather. Good question.

S

Stefan Christiansson

Probaby not from the sinking, but what if someone took picture on the voyage and then developed them in the dark room on board.