Wheels

Frank Mallia

Aug 11, 2004
Hi all sorry this may be a stupid question but i am no expert in ships, I wish to ask how many wheels did titanic have? I know there's one on the docking bridge and i used to believe there was one in the wheelhouse but i noticed from the movie Titanic when E.J.Smith moves towards the bridge as his final resting place he looks on the forward part of the bridge and there is a wheel then he goes in the back of the wheelhouse and there's another wheel, the one which he clings on to as the water bursts through the windows? what were all these wheels used for? Thanks

Shane Worthy

Aug 12, 2004
There was three wheels, Frank. One in the wheelhouse, one on the open bridge infront of it, and one on the after bridge. Generally, they steered with the one in the wheelhouse. The other two were used for docking and emergencies. They also had two steering engines in case everything failed, they could steer using cables from the capstans to the tiller.
All Ahead Full!

Dec 2, 2000
Easley South Carolina
>>if there were 3 wheels what one in the bow was used most and why would they use it??<<

Mmmmmmm...what Shane said was that the wheel was on the open bridge, not the bow. If I recall correctly, this wheel would be available for use in emergencies or for use when transiting restricted waterways such as harbours.

Shane Worthy

Aug 12, 2004
Michael's nailed it,
Nicholas, have you seen Jim's 'Titanic'? Ruth remarks, "Why do you have two steering wheels?" Thomas Andrews replies, "We really only use this near shore."
You see, in a ship's wheelhouse, the Quartermaster does not steer on visuals. He is to steer straight ahead unless otherwise noted by an officer. At nights, the wheelhouse is closed off by blinds, so the Quartermaster can see the light from the compass. This steering can only be done on open water.
When in harbor, the QM is moved up to the auxilery wheel, so he can see what is happening as the commanding officer gives him directions.