William Cross

May 22, 2005
My great, great uncle, W. Cross, was probably a fireman on board the Titanic and was not one of the fortunate 10 firemen who survived. His body was lost at sea. To be absolutely sure that I am not jumping to conclusions - despite family folklore, correct surname, age etc, I wonder if anyone knows how I may establish his Christian name. My relative's Christian name was William. Sign on sheets indicate that W Cross came from the Oceanic, but I have not been able to identify him further. Were the widows of crew members compensated for their loss? If so, perhaps I might be able to trace him through any documentation that might exist? As I am a novice at this, can anyone point me in the right direction? Many thanks.
Sandra
PS Apologies for possible double posting - erroneously placed in cabin numbers discussion(!?). tried to delete - not sure if I have been successful.

Apr 27, 2003
Cross, W. Lived at 97 Ludlow Road, Itchen, Southampton. Occupation - Fireman. 39 years old. (Born in Hampshire).
(From: Mansion House Titanic Relief Fund Booklet, March 1913)
Number 72. Cross, Annie. Widow. Class G dependent. A Class G dependent received 12/6 (52P) per week.
He has a Memorial brick in his name in the Woolston, Southampton, Millennium Garden known as the Feathers in Victoria Road Woolston - which opened in April 2002.

May 22, 2005
Brian & Bob