Working on a historical fiction about the disaster.

Atlantic1987

May 26, 2017
I have wanted to do a novel set during the voyage for ages and my previous attempt never got beyond the New York incident.

The story is to follow several parties:

A. The historical crew, wireless operators, Andrews, and Ismay.
B. A four-member Maryland family returning to the US, travelling First-class. (Fictional)
C. Second-class passenger John Harper and his relatives, bound for Chicago.

Weaving plots B and C together is a young painter travelling First, Feodor Nepenin.

---

This idea was birthed out of my reading of Shaara's The Killer Angels. I want to try what he did for Gettysburg with the Titanic: a historically faithful narrative. Being a self-taught Titanic historian for the last twenty years, I've gotten the bulk of the big stuff.

However, in regard to the fictional characters I do want to pay homage to pre-90's depictions of the event. Even though the general reader won't be familiar with the references, more learned people would catch stuff. My only regret in that regard is being unable to track down a copy of the script for The Berg by Ernest Raymond. The closest I could find was in a library somewhere in Australia.

Other than that, I'm hoping for a little advice in this.

Thank you all.

Dave Gittins

Apr 11, 2001
You should get rid of the young painter. He's straight our of Cameron's flick. At least make him a writer. Or a dog catcher!

Harland Duzen

Jan 14, 2017
Why not change the painter to that of an inspiring actor? He could then sneak into different areas by faking his accent and allow a greater area of the ship to viewed (slimiar to the proposed gameplay for Titanic: Honor & Glory where the gamer has to do various roles pretending to be a crew member).

Then again, Jack Dawson did do roughly the thing with Molly Brown in the 1997 film.

Atlantic1987

May 26, 2017