Yuri Singleton

Y

Yurisingleton

This should prove exciting.
I'm Yuri Singleton. I live near Dallas, Tx.
I am a technician with an electronics manufacturer. I am 28 years old and have a wonderful small family of two little girls and a beautiful wife. Currently we are planning to move to North Carolina some time next spring.
I first learned of the Titanic as a small child. My mother would tell me stories at night before bed and the one I always asked her to repeat was the story of the Titanic. She is a great storyteller and made it seem so real to me that I was instantly enthralled.
In primary school I used the Titanic as the subject of many papers, reports or reading assignments. As a result, I learned quite a bit about ships, the ocean, and particularly history. I found early on that you can't study Titanic without gaining a clearer understanding of the world events that shaped her world, and her tragedy.
When Dr. Ballard discovered the wreck in 1985, I was riveted to the news. (pardon the pun).
I had subscribed to National Geographic since age 5 so when the NGS presented the articles describing the wreck, it was like a personal dream come true.
Today, I am entering a new phase of my interest in Titanic. No longer content to simply draw my facts and information from that which is presented on television and other media; I am finding much more satisfaction from doing my own research. Although very new at this, and not near the Titanic scholar as some on this board are, I am now becoming much more knowledgable.
I am commited to making a pilgrimage to visit all the important site in the Titanic story. Belfast, Southampton, Queenstown, Halifax.
This board and the reputable people who use it have become a reliable and invaluable resource in my studies. I am very impressed in the overall politeness and wealth of details to be found here.
Thanks Phillip H. for this fine site.
I hope in the coming days to contribute when able and learn daily.

Yuri Singelton
Dallas, Tx.