Kaiser Wilhelm der Grosse

This is my first attempt to colorize a photo.
I had no idea what color the stacks should be.
38246.jpg

I actually saw one of the bells of Kaiser Wilhelm der Grosse a mere few hours ago which is on display at the Wissenschaftliches Institut fí¼r Schiffahrts- und Marinegeschichte (Scientific Institute of Shipping- and Naval History) in Hamburg. It is quite a piece! Most of the valuable fittings of the ship were dismantled before she was turned into an armed merchant cruiser. The First Class Smoke Room also still exists and is on display at the Deutsches Schiffahrtsmuseum in Bremerhaven. I have only seen pictures of it though. It is said the wreckage of Kaiser Wilhelm der Grosse was still visible in the 1950s when her remains were scrapped as she was declared a shipping hazard. You might want to check out the german model ship journal ModellWerft from September 2001 in which is the start of a two part series about the liner that I wrote, which also describes my experiences of building a model of this ship.

Regards

Peter

There were in fact five german four stackers. The first was of course the Kaiser Wilhelm der Grosse. Her sister ship was the Kronprinz Wilhelm. They were more or less identical, though the Kronprinz Wilhelm didn't have bridge wing cabs. I think they were both Blue Ribband holders. Later on the North German Lloyd commissioned two further four stackers the Kaiser Wilhelm II and the Kronprinzessin Cecilie. These were also sisterships but very different to the first two as the later ships had two promenade decks and were larger than the first.
Hamburg Amerika Line also wanted their share and commissioned the Deutschland which would also capture the Blue Ribband. However she vibrated heavily at high speeds and was taken off the north Atlantic run later and renamed Victoria Luise used as a cruise ship.

Pete

The following is largely abstracted from an article in Sea Breezes, October 1996 (the copyright resides with myself):